Wednesday, January 20, 2016

Andreas Bakkerud Joins Hoonigan


Photo: FIA World Rallycross Media

Tuesday, Ken Block teased fans via social media that one person from a list including Petter Solberg, Lewis Hamiton, Jeremy Clarkson, Sebastian Loeb, Joey Logano, Tanner Foust, and Andreas Bakkerud would be leaving their team to join the Hoonigan Racing Team. The most logical pick of the bunch would be Bakkerud.

Indeed, the 24 year old Norwegian just announced today that after two seasons driving a Fiesta ST with the Olsbergs MSE team (finishing 4th and 5th in 2014 and 2015, respectively), he would be joining Ken Block for the 2016 FIA World Rallycross season in the number 13 M-Sport Ford Fiesta.

“I think that working with Ken and his team in 2016 is really going to help me elevate my driving even further, plus I’ve always admired the way they handle exposing and marketing themselves both on and off event. I think this whole thing is an incredible opportunity not only for myself behind the wheel this year, but to learn and develop myself for the future as well. I can’t wait for the season to start! Thanks again to Ken and his team for this dream opportunity,” said Bakkerud.

The young driver won the FIA European Rallycross Championship in 2011 and 2012 in the Super 1600 class, both years driving a different Renault. In 2013 he competed for the first time in Supercar as a privateer in a Citro├źn DS3.

Ken Block recently confirmed his commitment to a full FIA World RX schedule in 2016.

from The Garage
from Tumblr

No comments:

Post a Comment