Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Aasbo Wins 2015 Formula D Championship

FDNJ_Aasbo-portraitCongratulations are in order to the Norwegian Hammer Frederic Aasbo, the new 2015 Formula D champion. Aasbo started off the 2015 Formula Drift season in Long Beach with a hard-fought win, and ended the season back in California as this year’s champ. After qualifying in fifth place at a sold-out Irwindale Speedway, the Norwegian bested Ken Gushi of Scion Racing to not only win the event, but to win the Formula DRIFT Pro Championship as well as the first World Championship.

Forrest Wang in his Get Nuts Lab Nissan S15 was the third place finisher, while Chris Forsberg, the 2014 champion, placed third in the 2015 Championship. Driving a Scion tC, Aasbo also helped to clinch the Manufacturer Championship for Scion as well as the Tire Manufacturer season championship for Hankook. Hankook placed 1-2-3 in the event and the season championship.

It was a bittersweet event at Irwindale. Known as the House of Drift, the speedway and drag strip that opened in 1999 is yet another doomed to join the ghosts of lost speedways; it is slated to be demolished and an outlet mall built in its place.

from The Garage http://thegarageblog.com/garage/aasbo-wins-2015-formula-d-championship/

No comments:

Post a Comment